Cannibal Ferox (Original 1981 Motion Picture Soundtrack) OWS03

This item isn't currently available.

Released April 2014 - OUT OF PRINT

One Way Static Records proudly presents: Umberto Lenzi's 'CANNIBAL FEROX aka MAKE THEM DIE SLOWLY' (Original 1981 Motion Picture Soundtrack by ROBERTO DONATI) for the first time on vinyl!

Maestro Roberto Donati was born and raised in Italy and as a guitarist/singer he ended up forming a wide variety of bands playing a broad spectrum of musical genres like Rock, Pop, R&B and Country & Western. Many of his songs were recorded as singles on the ‘Belldisc’ label in the late sixties and seventies. With all this experience under his belt Mr. Donati then devoted himself to the composition of soundtracks. These were all recorded under the pseudonym ‘Budy’ and were often collaborations with Maria Fiamma Maglione (who sadly passed away from cancer in 2003) thus the name ‘Budy Maglione’ was born.

Working with different directors (including legendary director Umberto Lenzi) he has written music for films in various genres including Italian comedy, erotic, western & horror. Highlights include "APACHE WOMAN” & “ASSAULT WITH A DEADLY WEAPON (1976), "EMANUELLE e LOLITA” (1978), "EATEN ALIVE” (1980), "CANNIBAL FEROX” (1981) and “DAUGHTER OF THE JUNGLE” (1982).

These compositions made him an established player in the Italian soundtrack scene and for which he received international praise, just like his contemporaries “FABIO FRIZZI”, “RIZ ORTOLANI”,…The most fame he received was probably for his soundtrack to Umberto Lenzi’s exploitation shocker “CANNIBAL FEROX” (better known in the States as “MAKE THEM DIE SLOWLY”) a notorious video nasty, labeled as “The Most Violent movie ever made” that was banned or severely cut in 31 countries.

Cannibal Ferox is often described as one of horror filmdom’s golden grails of soundtrack albums and holds it’s place between other contemporary classics like Cannibal Holocaust, The Beyond, Zombi 2,… Praised by composers and directors all over the world. Eli Roth described it as “powerful tribal, pounding stuff” and served as an inspiration when editing his new movie “The Green Inferno” (which is an homage to the Cannibal film genre).

Like many of the Italian cannibal films, the soundtrack is just as powerful and effective as the disturbing butchery. The use of funk guitar, bass, rock piano and synthesizer makes for a fun yet still powerful sound. It’s 70s recklessness with an 80s sensibility, perfect for a film that rides the line between two decades. Surprisingly funky and light-hearted, then again: there are cues which are genuinely mean and foreboding, serving as an essential piece that makes the film a pulse-pounding inferno of death.


Color Vinyl Edition

LIMITED EDITION COLOR VINYL packaged in a deluxe gatefold old school tip-on jacket with printed insert. This 'unrated' version has completely different artworks than the standard black vinyl version.

Available on :


These variants come sequentially foil numbered (2 series of /500).

Black Vinyl Edition

Classic Black Vinyl limited to #1000 copies worldwide. Comes with obi-strip. Has completely different artwork than the limited unrated edition. Packaged in a deluxe gatefold old school tip-on jacket with printed insert.

Cassette Edition

Deluxe Cassette Tape. Limited # 300 copies worldwide with alternate artworks. Contains extra bonus material like radio spots, mystery tracks and trailer audio exclusive to the tape version. #100 copies are package as a limited hand numbered 'Vomit Bag Edition'.

All versions contain four extra bonus tracks not included in the original score. All versions come with extensive and exclusive liner notes from:

ROBERTO DONATI (AKA Budy Maglione) GIOVANNI LOMBARDO RADICE (The House On The Edge Of The Park, City Of The Living Dead, The Church) DANILO MATTEI (Ironmaster, The Sicilian, Mark Of The Scorpion) ROBERT KERMAN (Eaten Alive, Cannibal Holocaust, Debby Does Dallas, Spiderman) & ZORA KEROVA (Anthropophagus, The New York Ripper, The New Barbarians).


01. NYC Main title
02. Cannibal Ferox Theme
03. Killing 2 Parrots
04. Into The Bush
05. Jungle Jive
06. Jaywalkin’ Iguana
07. Piranhas
08. NYC Brass

09. Kettle Of Doom
10. Mike Flips Out
11. NYC Aftermath
12. Man Hunting*
13. Chase*
14. On The Trail*
15. Evil Rising*

* Bonus Tracks

Pressing Information

#1000 Black Vinyl
#500 Foil-numbered JUNGLE CAMOUFLAGE Vinyl
#500 Foil-numbered CLEAR & GREEN Split Vinyl
#100 cassettes (Hand Numbered Vomit Bag Edition)
#200 cassettes (Regular Edition)