The Hills Have Eyes (Original 1977 Motion Picture Soundtrack) OWS02

This item isn't currently available.

Released January 2014 - OUT OF PRINT

One Way Static Records proudly presents: Wes Craven's 'THE HILLS HAVE EYES' (Original 1977 Motion Picture Soundtrack by DON PEAKE) for the first time on vinyl!

Prolific and multitalented composer, musician & record producer DON PEAKE wrote the original soundtrack for Wes Craven’s THE HILLS HAVE EYES (1977) where his eerie soundtrack punched up some of the films most unnerving scenes.

Don started his music career in 1961 as the lead guitarist for The Everly Brothers and played guitar for ten years in the Ray Charles Orchestra. Don played guitar on The Righteous Brothers hit “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling,” Ike and Tina Turners “River Deep, Mountain High” and the Jackson Five’s hit song “ABC” to name just a few. He worked as an arranger for such artists as Roy Orbison, The Monkees, Marvin Gaye, Barry White, Sonny and Cher, John Lennon, The Beach Boys, Diana Ross and many, many more. Don was also a respected staff guitarist at Motown Records & part of the legendary ‘Wrecking Crew’ an elite clique of notable musicians employed by some of the biggest acts on the planet. Phil Spector even used the crew to create his trademarked ‘Wall Of Sound’.

You’ll find Don’s music in countless films & TV series of all genres (some of which are Academy Award winners). In 1991 he collaborated with Wes Craven again on the fantastic ‘THE PEOPLE UNDER THE STAIRS’. Most will know his musical work for the KNIGHT RIDER TV series. And yes, that includes the memorable theme song you can’t seem to get out of your head since the eighties. In 2007, Don Peake was inducted into the Musician’s Hall of Fame in Nashville, TN.

One Way Static Records is proud to announce the release of this historical motion picture soundtrack. A truly eerie experimental score that uses natural devices and existing instruments. It’s fascinating to know that most of the percussion sounds heard are actually the sounds of the bone & teeth necklaces worn by the actors that are being played like instruments. Not for the faint of heart!


Color Vinyl Edition

LIMITED EDITION COLOR VINYL packaged in a deluxe gatefold old school tip-on jacket with printed insert. The jacket has an aqueous satin coating & Spot Gloss high UV finishing + Foil Stamping on the cover and spine.

Available on :


These variants come sequentially foil numbered (2 series of /300).

Black Vinyl Edition

Classic Black Vinyl limited to #1400 copies worldwide. Comes with obi-strip & packaged in a deluxe gatefold old school tip-on jacket with printed insert.

Cassette Edition

Deluxe Cassette Tape. Limited # 300 copies worldwide with alternate artworks. Contains extra bonus material like radio spots, mystery tracks and trailer audio exclusive to the tape version. #100 copies are package as a limited hand numbered 'Body Bag Edition'.

All versions come with extensive and exclusive liner notes from:

DEE WALLACE (E.T., Cujo, Critters, The Howling) ERIC SAARINEN (Gimme Shelter, Death Race 2000) JANUS BLYTHE (Phantom Of The Paradise, Eaten Alive, The Incredible Melting Man) MICHAEL BERRYMAN (Deadly Blessing, Cut and Run, The Devil's Rejects, The Lords of Salem) SUZE LANIER (The Hills Have Eyes parts 1+2) & DON PEAKE himself.


01. M2-2
02. M3-3
03. M5-1
04. MQ
05. M1-2
06. M1-3
07. M3-4
08. M3-4, 3-5, 3-6
09. Wild Synth – Wind and Bush
10. M2-6
11. M3-7
12. M4-1
13. M4-4
14. M5-2 Re
15. Oil Can Spout
16. M5-4
17. The Rabbit
18. MQ
19. M1-1
20. M2-1a
21. M2-2 Re

22. M2-5
23. M3-3 Re
24. M3-1
25. M3-8
26. M3-9
27. M4-2
28. M4-5
29. M5-1
30. MQ
31. MQ
32. M5-6
33. M5-7
34.M5-7 Wild Ax Hits
35. MQ
36. M5-8
37. M2-3
38. MQ
39. MQ
40. MQ
41. M4-5

Pressing Information

#1400 Black Vinyl
#300 Foil-numbered AMBER-GLOW IN THE DARK Split
#300 Foil-numbered CLEAR with AMBER Splatter Vinyl
#100 cassettes (Hand Numbered Body Bag Edition)
#200 cassettes (Regular Edition)